Ready, Willing and Able

Adventures of Penny R.

This Is Getting Creepy

“You got more flowers,” Manny said, as I walked into the building yesterday.

“Oh no! From the same place?”

“No, mam. Different shop. Is this the third shop in a week?”

“Yes,” I groaned. “This is getting creepy. The notes are so cryptic. I wish there was something you or security could do.”

“If we knew it was from the same shop, we could investigate.”

Ugh. It was getting creepy. I clearly had some sort of stalker on my hands. I had asked every one of my friends, and no one was playing a joke on me. The thought of Melanie crossed my mind – since she was now playing the victim in the settled divorce. The scorned wife – cheated on by her husband. But as much as she was a bitch, I didn’t think she’d stoop this low. But then again, who knows.

***

“Do you think it’s April?” Emily asked.

“April?”

“Tony’s girlfriend.”

“Oh. Her. Yea, I don’t think so. But you never know. She should have no reason to hate me. I mean, she got what I had. And what I don’t want anymore. I still think it’s Melanie for some reason. She is a very powerful person. Knows a lot of people.”

“Did you ask Trent?”

“I”m going to again,” I said. “He doesn’t think it is, but he said he would ask if I keep getting them. Today was the fourth bunch in three days. That’s a bit much.”

“And each note references something sort of personal?”

“Yea.”

“Do you think it’s someone on your new staff? I mean, you don’t know any of those people. Or maybe it’s some random person who saw you in the papers or something? I think you should go to the police.”

“I know. Security at work was looking into it, but this person has been using a different florist for each delivery, so it would be very hard to pinpoint. But, they said one more delivery and they will contact the police.”

“I just don’t understand why the shops just won’t give up the person’s name.”

“He paid with cash and asked to be anonymous.”

“You called?”

“Every shop. Same answer.”

“Weird.”

After I got off the phone with her, I went straight to the next show of the day. Sometimes on Thursdays, we do two tapings so Jimmy can have off on Fridays. It’s usually a long day/night, but sometimes we have Friday to post stuff. In this case however, we were all off today for Jimmy’s big birthday blowout tonight. His wife planned a surprise party and he has no clue! It’s going to be so much fun. And! Trent is actually coming with me! As a couple! It’s going to be our first big event together. Well, our first real outing as a couple together. We’ve been to work events, just had to keep our hands off each other.

I got off work last night around 10:30pm and headed straight to Trent’s apartment.

“Hey baby, how was work? You look exhausted,” he said, pulling me close and kissing me.

“Yea, I’m pretty beat. But I got all the work done, so I can just relax tomorrow before the party. I’m so pumped!”

“Well, I’m just happy I get to have you on my arm. Everyone is going to be so jealous.”

“You are way too good to me. You know that?”

“Only the best for my Pen. So tell me, you got more flowers today Manny said?” he asked, rubbing my shoulders.

“Ugh. Yes! And another shop too. Are you sure…”

“I”m going to talk to Melanie,” he said, interrupting me.

“God, you really are too good to me. You just read my mind.”

“Well, I’ve been thinking about it. And I could see it being her. She’s so manipulative and can be downright evil sometimes.”

“Emily had a thought tonight. She thought maybe it’s someone from the series. I mean, I know they did background checks on everyone. But I don’t know them like I know people at the building, you know?”

“Very true. It could be. Are you going to the set tomorrow before the party?:

“Yes. I’m going to do a little re-con.”

“That’s my girl,” he said, kissing me. “Now, let’s go forget all about all those flowers.”

He pulled me into the bedroom and for the next hour I did forget all about it. But, then I tossed and turned all night, with dreams of being chased by crazy men with creepy clown masks who morphed into zombies. Yea, I’m not bothered by this at all.

September 19, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment